Tuesday, July 10, 2012

Governors Awards details announced, producers named

The 4th Annual Governors Awards will be three weeks later than the previous three years, being held on Saturday, Dec. 1, Academy President Tom Sherak announced on Monday.

Marketing executive Cheryl Boone Isaacs will produce the event for the Academy. She will share the duties with Don Mischer Productions, the company's fourth show. The team will be led by Don Mischer, Charlie Haykel and Juliane Hare.

One or more of the Academy’s highest honors — the Irving G. Thalberg Memorial Award, the Jean Hersholt Humanitarian Award and the Honorary Award — will be presented at the event in the newly named Ray Dolby Ballroom at the Hollywood & Highland Center.

Boone Isaacs, a member of the Academy’s Board of Governors representing the Public Relations Branch, currently heads CBI Enterprises, Inc. where she has consulted on such films as “The Artist,” “The King’s Speech” and “Precious.”

She was the first African American woman to run a studio marketing department. She was also the first African American woman elected to the Academy’s Board of Governors. Boone Isaacs has served as president of theatrical marketing for New Line Cinema and executive vice president of worldwide publicity for Paramount Pictures. She orchestrated publicity campaigns for “Forrest Gump” and “Braveheart,” each of which won multiple Academy Awards, including Best Picture.

Mischer, a veteran TV producer and director, has 15 Emmy Awards and a record 10 Directors Guild of America Awards. His three-decade long credits include producing and directing the 83rd and 84th Academy Awards, opening and closing ceremonies of the 2002 Winter Olympic Games in Salt Lake City, the 2004 Democratic National Convention and Super Bowl halftime shows.

Haykel and Hare most recently executive produced this year’s “Oscars Red Carpet Live,” the 90-minute Oscars pre-show. They were also consulting producers for the Oscars telecast.

The 2012 honorees will be selected at a special Board of Governors meeting in August.

Past producers for the Governors Awards have included writer-director Phil Robinson, former Academy president Sid Ganis and Academy Award-winning producer Bruce Cohen, who went on to co-produce the 83rd Academy Awards telecast.

Read a recap from the 3rd Annual Governors Awards.
Share This :

Post a Comment

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...